September 2011
Queensland Sporting Hovercraft Club

Dear Air Cushion Vehicle enthusiast,
The Queensland branch of The Australian Hovercraft Federation held a planning meeting on Tuesday, 20th September 2011, at the RC primary school, 350 Mortimer Road, Acacia Ridge.
This meeting was attended by:-

Acting President:- Peter Venn
Vice President:- Des Goss
Treasurer:- Phillip Audsley
Secretary:- Steven Odgaard

Other members attending were Angus Kerr, Arthur Stead and Bill Toppin.
Visitors for the evening were Rita Chaffey, Kerri Audsley.

The Annual General Meeting which was due to be held on Tuesday 16th August 2011 was adjourned as the members present did not form a quorum. That meeting was re-convened at this months meeting as a quorum was present.

Cruise report - Muriel Street, Redland Bay - Saturday 17th September 2011.

The last club cruise was held on Saturday 17th September 2011, launching from 96 Muriel Street, Redland Bay courtesy of Peter Venn. Those attending the cruise were:-

Peter Venn & Bill Toppin - white Expo Turbo powered by a PE485 Yamaha.
Arthur Stead - Revtech Renegade powered by a 20hp Honda.
Des Goss - Simple Cyclone (Aqua-Terra) powered by a PE485 Yamaha.
Steven Odgaard & Rita Chaffey - blue Expo Turbo powered by a 51hp Yamaha PE485.

We launched into the Redland Bay Channel at 10:30 am and headed north then north east to Karragarra Island and had morning tea on the western tip at our favourite picnic table. Waiting for us at this location was Dale Baxter and Tamara Ward who were anchored off shore in their bay cruiser. Tamara, Rita, Peter and Des provided some muffins, lamingtons and biscuits to go with our special silver service morning billy tea.

After saying our farewells to Dale and Tamara, we headed south east to the Russell Island Lions Park and met up with Lucinda Venn and Beren Pluquet who live on the Island. Here we photographed a memorial plaque dedicated to a young lad lost at sea at nearby Jumpinpin bar.
The plaque reads:-

This BBQ was erected by the Russell Island Lions Club in memory of Jamie Hall aged 23 years. Lost at Sea following an accident at Jumpinpin Bar on 15th May 1994. Loved and remembered by all his family and friends. He is the crest on every wave that ripples over silken sands and tickles toes of children.

We then headed west and north under the high power lines supplying power to the Bay islands, then up the Logan River, returning to Redland Bay Channel at 1:40 pm. Here we relaxed with a pot of tea and some fruit cake courtesy of Peter Venn, and after refuelling the Venn Expo Turbo fleet, left on our separate ways at about 3:00 pm after a most enjoyable day.

Click on the next and previous buttons below to view a selection of photos taken by Rita Chaffey during the cruise.

Annual General Meeting:-
Election of office bearers was as follows:-

President Peter Venn - nominated by S. Odgaard seconded by A. Stead
Vice President Des Goss - nominated by A. Stead seconded by A. Kerr
Secretary Steven Odgaard - nominated by P. Venn seconded by A. Kerr
Treasurer Phil Audsley - nominated by B. Toppin seconded by S. Odgaard
AHF delegate Peter Venn
AHF delegate Arthur Stead
AHF delegate Steven Odgaard

Next club cruise:-
The next club cruise will be held on Saturday 1st October 2011 at Muriel St, Redland Bay.
Meet at 9:00 am at Peter Venn's place at 96 Muriel St, Redland Bay for a launch into the Redland Bay Channel and a cruise to the Jumpinpin area on South Stradbroke Island.
UBD Reference - Map 267 B9.
Contact for the event is Steven Odgaard on 0400 798 404.

Next Queensland branch meeting:
The next club meeting will be held on Tuesday 18th October 2011 at 7:30pm.
It will be held in the Staff Room at Our Lady of Fatima RC primary school, 350 Mortimer Road Acacia Ridge.

Hope you can come. All welcome.

Steven Odgaard
QSH secretary